Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

So that you can upload the planning data of a specialist model created in Allplan to Bimplus, the Allplan project must be linked with the Bimplus project in which you maintain the building model of the construction project. This link will be created when you upload data from an Allplan project to Bimplus for the first time.

By using the BIMPLUS web portal, the BIM coordinator responsible for the construction project usually creates the required Bimplus project at an earlier stage. So the Bimplus project already exists. When you upload data for the first time, you simply decide whether you want to create a new specialist model in this project or update an existing model, that is to say, overwrite the last revision. As an alternative, you can also create the Bimplus project directly when you upload data from Allplan for the first time (if you have the required rights).

The next time you upload data from an Allplan project that is already linked with a Bimplus project, you can change neither the Bimplus project nor the model. In this case, you can only update the existing model or create a new revision.

Note: Each new project you create in Allplan gets a unique ID. Even if you import a project backup to a new Allplan project with the same name as the original project, the ID of the backed up project is different from the ID of the new project. Therefore, in this context, "uploading for the first time" means uploading data from an Allplan project whose ID is not linked with a Bimplus project of the current Bimplus team.

Topics on this page:

 

 

Using Allplan to sign in to Bimplus

To upload data from Allplan directly to Bimplus, you must sign in to Bimplus from Allplan. You get the necessary details after registration with Bimplus.

Important!
You sign in to Bimplus from Allplan independently of signing in to the BIMPLUS web portal although you use the same details (email address and password). Even if you have already signed in to the BIMPLUS web portal, you are not automatically signed in to Bimplus from Allplan and vice versa.

To use Allplan to sign in to Bimplus

This is only possible if ...

→  You are a registered Bimplus participant (see ”Your Bimplus registration”)
→  Allplan is running

  1. Click Login on the title bar of Allplan.

    You can see the BIMPLUS dialog box.

  2. Enter your email address and password.

    Note: Use the email address and password you specified when you registered with Bimplus. As an alternative, you can also use your details for signing in to Allplan Connect.

  3. Click Login.

↑ Back to top

 

 

Linking an Allplan project with a Bimplus project

If you want to upload planning data of a specialist model from an Allplan project to Bimplus for the first time, you must link the Allplan project with the corresponding Bimplus project first.

Use the Bimplus project that was created by the BIM coordinator responsible for the construction project. As an alternative, you can also create a new Bimplus project while uploading data. However, only the owner or an administrator of a Bimplus team is authorized to create new Bimplus projects in the team. Therefore, the team owner or a team administrator must upload the data for the first time.


Important!
Only by deleting the Bimplus model created for the Allplan project from the Bimplus project can you change the link between the Allplan project and the Bimplus project (see “Deleting specialist models”).

To link an Allplan project with a Bimplus project

This is only possible if ...

  1. Make sure all design elements that you want to upload to Bimplus are visible in the project.

    To do this, check the status of the drawing files, which should be current, open in edit mode, or open in reference mode. Then check the status of the layers, which should be at least visible, frozen.

  2. Click Upload Model to Bimplus (Teamwork task → Bimplus task area).

    You can see the Upload Model to Bimplus dialog box.

  3. Only if you are a member of several Bimplus teams:
    Go to the Team area and select the Bimplus team who is to work on the project.

  4. If the Bimplus project already exists:
    Go to the Projects table in the Project area and select the Bimplus project to which you want to upload the planning data (this can be done by project administrators and project editors).

    Or:

    If the Bimplus project does not exist yet:
    Go to the Project area, click Create new Bimplus project under the Projects table and enter a name for the new Bimplus project (this can be done only by the team owner or a team administrator).

  5. Go to the Project area, click Create new Bimplus model under the Models table and enter a name for the new Bimplus specialist model.

  6. Click Upload.

    The program links the Allplan project with the selected Bimplus project, uploading the planning data to Bimplus.

  7. As soon as the process is complete, you can see a message. Click OK to confirm this message.


↑ Back to top

 

 

To get information about the Bimplus link with an Allplan project

This is only possible if ...

→  Allplan is running
→  You signed in to Bimplus from Allplan (see “Using Allplan to sign in to Bimplus”)
→  The Allplan project is open

  1. Click Settings at the bottom of the palette.

    The Settings for ... dialog box displays the following information:

    Bimplus team
    Shows the name of the Bimplus team who is working on the Bimplus project that is linked with the current Allplan project.

    Bimplus project
    Shows the name of the Bimplus project that is linked with the current Allplan project.

    Bimplus model
    Shows the name of the specialist model under which the current Allplan project is stored in the Bimplus project.


↑ Back to top

 

 

Updating the planning data of an Allplan project on Bimplus

As soon as an Allplan project is linked with a Bimplus project, you can decide whether you want to update or overwrite the data of the specialist model or create a new revision of the model. You can decide this every time you upload planning data from this Allplan project to Bimplus.

Note: You can change neither the Bimplus project nor the model in this phase.

To update the planning data or create a new revision

This is only possible if ...

→  Allplan is running
→  You signed in to Bimplus from Allplan (see “Using Allplan to sign in to Bimplus”)
→  The Allplan project is open and linked with a Bimplus project (see “Linking an Allplan project with a Bimplus project”)
→  You have the required rights (see “Rights in Bimplus”)

  1. Make sure all design elements that you want to upload to Bimplus are visible in the project.

    To do this, check the status of the drawing files, which should be current, open in edit mode, or open in reference mode. Then check the status of the layers, which should be at least visible, frozen.

  2. Click Upload Model to Bimplus (Teamwork task → Bimplus task area).

    You can see the Upload Model to Bimplus dialog box.

  3. Go to the Setting area and decide whether you want to update the existing model, overwrite it, or create a new revision:

    Update the current model
    Updates the current model with the selected design elements (see step 1) that have changed since the last upload.

    Upload the current model again
    Replaces the current model with the design elements selected (see step 1).

    Create a new revision
    Creates a new revision of the model, keeping the original version. You can still view and edit the original version by using the BIMPLUS web portal.

  4. Click Upload.

    This uploads the planning data from Allplan to Bimplus.

  5. As soon as the process is complete, you can see a message. Click OK to confirm this message.

↑ Back to top

 

 

  • No labels